Some people think that when recruiting companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others consider they should recruit people who are to work in a team and follow instructions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a group of people which believe that while hiring employers should consider people with innovative thinking and who can run a one man show without any dependencies. Whereas, the other group is of the view that companies should hire who are capable of working as a team player and are flexible to adhere instructions. I shall discuss both perspective in detail in the following paragraphs before reaching a final verdict.

Predominantly, an evident reason of companies hiring innovative and independent resources is the capability to think out of the box. in running days companies look forward to hire people with proactive approach against certain problem statement and who do not consider obstacles as a dead lock to achieve certain goals. For instance, Bill Gates rightly said, do not hire people who have a smart and quick approach to solve a problem, and rather hire those who have easy and lazy solutions as they will find convenient way which involves least effort.

On the contrary, owing to the nature of work there are still companies prefer to hire people who work as team players and follow certain guidelines. For instance in a factory where resources are supposed to pack clothes in a bag, there is no innovation involved but team work is of paramount importance with adherence to supervisor guidelines. People having characteristics of working in isolation and reluctant in abiding the instructions would not be a fit for these types of jobs.

To recapitulate the aforementioned argument, many companies prefer innovative and analytical skills and other prefers team players. I opine that both approaches are appropriate. Resource selection is directly proportional to the nature of work a person has to do. In companies like Facebook or Apple, innovative and proactive mindset resource would be a best match whereas in factories team players and working under predefined guidelines would be the best suit.