Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed However other people think that zoos are useful to protect the rare animals Discuss both views and give your own opinion

The practice of putting animals in artificial zones away from their natural habitats has stirred up a controversy around the world. Some people believe that this has a devastating effect on animals but others see this as beneficial for endangered creatures. In my opinion, if given appropriate attention, zoos can contribute to saving the lives of rare animals. Both viewpoints will be analysed in this essay in more depth.

On the one hand, some people see zoos as a cause of concern and dismiss / condemn the idea of keeping animals away from nature to live and breed in a limited space. This is because of the horrifying conditions of many zoos around the world especially in under developed areas, where animals are kept in dreadful conditions. For example, in 2007, three zoos in the USA were forced to close by the government after several reports claiming the outrageous treatment of animals came to light. Therefore, the viewpoint that sees zoos are cruel certainly holds water.

On the other hand, many argue that zoos contribute to preserving animals which are on the verge of being extinct. This is because zoos protect those animals from illegal hunters, poachers and dangerous conditions. For instance, tigers and crocodiles are being killed for their skin to be sold in the black market. Were these animals left to live in their natural habitat, their extinction would be inevitable. Thus, keeping animals in the zoo is advantageous from this perspective.

In conclusion, after analysing both sides of the argument, it seems to me that zoos play a key role in protecting animals. It is hoped that the rights and welfare of animals are prioritised by all organisations around the globe and zoos are kept under close scrutiny to ensure the safety of their animals.