Some people think that zoos are cruel and that all zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful for protecting rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Certain individuals agree that in zoos animals are kept in confinement and are treated badly and awfully, whereas, other have an opinion that zoos help in protecting the threatened species. In my opinion, I do believe that animals are treated with cruelly by the zoo keepers and it should be closed.

Many individuals believe that zoos should be shut down as the animals are made to live is imprisonment with restricted movement, as a result, the animals lose their natural wild instinct. They are given limited food to eat because of which they lose their strength. Moreover, the zookeepers are not very trained and do not possess a proper knowledge of how to deal with the animals, they exploit and force them to do shows for entertaining people which becomes a source of revenue generation

To elucidate, a recent study by National Geographic shows that when the caged animals such as lion and tigers when released in the jungle, they have completely forgotten their hunting skills and thus are killed by the predators.

However, others opine that zoos should not be destroyed as they help to protect the rare and threatened species from various human exploitation as, the natural habitat of wildlife is destroyed by human activities such as deforestation and poaching, so y keeping them in the zoos protects them from being extinct. Furthermore, animals in zoos are very beneficial for the society in providing not only for educating children about their behaviour and eating habits but also in the study of anatomy by the researchers. To illustrate, panda which is an endangered animal because of hunting by people for its fur but after the development of infrastructure like zoo helps to protect the species from being extinct.

To conclude, I vehemently agree that zoos should be banned and shut down as the animals right to live freely in their natural habitat is violated and they are treated brutally by the zookeepers.