Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school an university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

On the one hand, having a year-long break offers students some benefits. Firstly, they can relax . High school is a difficult time for students to go through because they have to go through exam pressure and determine their future. Hence, this does wonders for them to relieve stress. Secondly, they will have time enough to decide on their future path. In a year, they can find their own interests, strengths and choose a reasonable major. For instance, there are many students who choose their major immediately and are not suitable for themselves, causing them to lose their motivation to study and fail on their career path. In addition, students also gain more practical skills when they work. For example, there are some skills we learn while working are : communication, problem-solving, leadership,…

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that taking a gap year would trigger some drawbacks. First of all, they graduate later than your friends. This leads to it being very difficult for them if they do not have a friend to help each other in their studies. They can stay in the same hostel to share and help each other about the difficulties in life. For example, when you are sick, your friends will go to buy medicine and take care of you. Besides,it is undeniable that students lose motivation to get back. When they travel or work too much, they can lose their ability to cope with their studies and get bored easily when things do not go well. Thus, it is a waste of time if you do not set a clear goal.