Some think most crimes are the result of circumstances e.g. poverty and other social problems. Others believe that most crime is caused by people who are bad by nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that most offences are caused by negative effects of the environment surrounding them. However, others argue that the bad nature of people is the main reason of most crimes. In my opinion, the society and external factors are the culprit for every offending of criminals.

On the one hand, some may argue that offenders have a bad nature and it leads to their actions that harmful to community. This argument could be true to some extent because in criminals researches, some delinquencies confess that they committed crime because they wanted to satisfy themselves by hurting others. In the fact that many offenders are prone to recidivism though they participated in vocational courses and re-educated camp to have another chance in life. Therefore, if only because these criminals are suffering from a difficult condition, they will not commit crimes many times like that.

On the other hand, socialists believe that the influences of circumstances have the significant role in offences. People who experimented poverty or the bad educational environment can more easily get social or psychological trouble which is responsible for most crime such as shoplifting, bank robbery, burglary… For example, criminal reports in 2018 pointed that over 30% of criminal cases were caused by people who have childhood violence or are affected by psychological shock and over 40% of the remaining cases are the result of efforts to solve life’s demands. Besides, many juvenile delinquencies confessed that they are under pressure from peers to reap applause and prove individualism or even they only imitate actions of characters in hero films and series on TV.

Taking all of this into account, individual nature and consciousness is an element of crime. However, the most crimes are the consequence accumulated by negative effect from social problems.