Some today argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern society, it is argued that formal education and school attendance is unnecessary by the reason that the Internet has a variety of materials for different subject and children are able to study it from home. I totally disagree with this opinion because it cannot provide enough interaction with a teacher, as well as the Internet is highly addictive and destructive.

First, even though the Internet is a great tool for finding information, it does not completely satisfy the purpose of fundamental education, which is providing a solid knowledge of basic subjects for growing generation. However, this goal can be achieved only through communication with a teacher and active inclusion of a student in the educational process. This is because the Internet is only a storage of the information, while a teacher is literary a guide through the essence of knowledge, helping to the youth to understand a subject, encouraging them to study it in a depth.

In addition, there are plenty distractions on the Internet, such as entertainment sites with games, different forums and videos. As it is known, these kind of resources are may cause an Internet addiction, when a person simply spends hours and hours in front of the screen without any particular reason. Thus, if a child was learning any subject online, he might be easily distracted by mass media as well as become an Internet addict. For instance, today due to the pandemic most of the school children throughout the world are studying online and their parents notice that they tend to play games instead of learning and cannot concentrate on a subject.

In conclusion, I completely disagree that schools lost their potential with the appearance of the Internet because children needs a supervision from a professional, who can help them to gain fundamentals.