In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.Why is this the case?What can be done about this problem?

Although, we are witnessing a significant advancement being made in the field of agriculture, numerous people are still deprived of the basic necessity like food. This essay discuses about the causes of scarcity of the food, along with the possible solutions for the same problem.

The primary reason for people being hungry, regardless of the advances in agriculture is the ever growing population. In the last decade, the growth rate of population has increased tremendously. Whereas, the production of food has not comparative increased at the same scale. It is inhuman to change the duration required for a crop to be grown. In addition, food is wasted by many people on daily basis, which ultimately leads to shortage of food for other people. For instance, restaurants, where food is made in bulk, however, unfortunately not all of it is completely consumed by the customers. The leftover food is then discarded to avoid any problems caused by stale food. Therefore, these are the major causes, why people go hungry.

This situation can totally be changed and each person can have at least one meal a day. Firstly, the wastage of food immediately needs to be reduced. Restaurants ought to cook the food as per the need of the hour and not cook any of it in advance. To illustrate, management needs to be well trained in food management and avoid wastage of food as much as possible. This will save a huge amount of food every single day. Moreover, we need to control the growth of population. The more the population, the more the shortage of food. Some international laws are required to keep a check on the population growth.

In conclusion, population growth and misuse of food are the foremost challenges we face and it will ultimately lead to people starving, but a possible solution could be, to control the growth rate of population along with decreasing the wastage of food.