a staggering amount of food is wasted every year, both in business and households. Why is this happening and what could be done to tackle this problem?

Food is one of the fundamental requirements for any life but sadly, both in businesses and household an enormous amount of food is wasted annually. Although people are aware of the importance of food but their lack of knowledge prevents them to curb the wastage of food.

In the context of households, the perishable items are the major contributors of the garbage. For instance, my colleagues fill their bags from the grocery store without putting any thought into the meal they will be cooking. And therefore as a result, 50% of their shopping can be seen in the dustbin. Instead, I first design my weekly meal schedule and then prepare a list of groceries with the quantity, I will require cooking. On being questioned, on their illicit use of the produce, they reply that they lack the knowledge to prevent their pseudo consumption. Thus, an effective training, classes or handouts can certainly enlighten the minds of such ignorant people to reduce the wastage.

On the other hand, considering the businesses which are fairly managed but still contributes a major amount of scrap food. The prevalent reason being the suboptimal estimation of the customers. For example, big manufacturing industries that provide the meal on the premises generally doesn’t take into account the absences or people on fast. In addition to it fierce competition within the various food outlets led to an aesthetic conflict to attract customers, this results in the humongous amount of food thrown in the dustbin.

There are certainly various ways by which food wastage can be reduced. Initially, educating professional, youth, children regarding food wastage and the ways by which it can be eliminated. Secondly, companies can devise software that can provide an exact number of people having the meal. In addition to it, practices like First In First Out(FIFO) and labeling can surely help to eradicate this problem. Even after employment of above-mentioned practices, one has generated waste, he can donate it to shelter homes.

To conclude. Food waste is a serious problem and we must try to refrain ourselves from it. This is a direct result of consumerism and our poor food education. There are, however, many ways to tackle this problem, as long as everyone agrees to do their best to control their own wastage.