Students in many countries are encouraged to travel or work for a year before starting their university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to work or travel after finishing high school and starting education in a university.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that some young are encouraged to work or travel a year before finishing high school. Some people assume that such a step is so beneficial to students while others oppose such idea. In my point of view, I think this idea has its advantages and disadvantages as well.

An advantage of working during high school is the gaining of valuable experience. When young people decide to work during their high school, they will get accustomed to the work environment and know several expertise and skills upon which they can build their future. In this way, it can be definitely assumed that they will be more than ready for any future work, be it a university study or any other job. For example, my brother preferred to work when he was at high school level with the aim of learning new skills. Upon completion of high school, he easily found a suitable job and impressed the employers with his experience.

On the other hand, travelling during high school has some negative impacts. When young people prefer to travel before completing their high school, they may encounter cultural shocks. For example, one of my relatives decided to travel when he was in high school. Due to his immaturity and lack of knowledge of the outside world, he was utterly shocked by the customs and the way of life there. He was unable to get familiar with that community and was completely disappointed since he was unable to stay there.Consequently, his decision was against him because he did not get any benefit from his travelling.

In conclusion, No one can deny that travelling or working during high school has its positive and negative impacts. So, high school students are highly recommended to know their abilities and readiness before embarking on working or travelling in order not to be shocked or otherwise.