Successful companies use advertisement to make more sales.What can make an advertisement very effective?Do you think this is a bad thing or a good thing for the society?

In recent years, many people have discussed how to help companies make more money. Some people suggest that successful companies should use advertising to boost their sales. Since advertising is a useful marketing strategy, this essay will explore what can make an advertisement effective and explain why I consider this is a good thing for the society.

There are two strategies to make an advertisement very effective. To begin with, people should employ simple words and catchy slogans to promote their products. For example, a world-famous fast food restaurant, MacDonald’s, successfully impresses its global customers with an easy slogan—“I’m loving it”. In addition, celebrity endorsement is another strategy to make an advertisement effective. For instance, many companies prefer to hire famous actors or actresses to endorse their new products because the fans of these celebrities will follow their lifestyle and buy the promoted products.

In my opinion, advertising is a bad thing for the society. First, advertising usually deceives people into buying fake things. For example, some ladies purchase brand new cosmetic products after reading a piece of advertisement on the newspaper. However, they are cheated by the crooked advertisers, and get fake products with bad qualities. Not aware that what they buy are harmful products, they might get hurt after using them. Second, advertising makes people waste a lot of money on unnecessary things. For instance, many teenagers are reported that they urge their parents to buy them new smart phones even though they have already had one. Therefore, advertising not only wastes people’s money but also makes them greedy or extravagant.

In conclusion, advertising is one of the ways to help enterprises increase their profits. There are many strategies to make an effective piece of advertisement. Despite these strategies, I consider that advertising is by no means a good thing for our contemporary society.