Some people say that playing computer games is bad for children in every way Others say that playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop

The issue of children playing computer games has been a heatedly discussed topic in the recent years, and this had turned into a dilemma facing many. Some people assert that playing computer games has negative impacts on children, while other people do not agree. From my perspective, the positive effects of computer games are far superior to negative effects.

On the one hand, playing computer games has two negative effects on children. The immediate one is students’ poor academic performance. For example, a recent survey has shown that a quarter of American children have difficulty concentrating on and completing their tasks assigned at school because their minds are always wandering to the scenarios of online games. More disturbing, though, is that computer games adversely affect the vision of children. According to the data, playing computers games for two consecutive hours will reduce vision by an average of one degree. Despite the drawbacks of computer games, the benefits cannot be ignored.

On the other hand, playing computer games can have positive effects on the way children develop. First and foremost, computer games, especially in shooting games, can exercise eye and hand coordination. Players must have very fast reflexes to make sure that they can win. For instance, they need to be ready to change positions and aim at the enemy as the situation changes. According to the data of Tencent Esports College, students there only have an average of less than 0.1-second reaction time to operate computers when they see any change. Second, computer games can strengthen the skills of team cooperation. For instance, PUBG is a shooting game which requires a team of four members. If one of the players does not cooperate with teammates, sometimes they will blow you up with a grenade and deduct game credit points. In the long run, children will be accustomed to collaborating with their team members.

To recapitulate, people hold different perspectives on how children may be influenced by computer games. Some people think hi-tech entertainment might do harm to children in many ways, but still, I maintain that computer games can promote the development of children, as its beneficial effects outweigh the rest.