Teaching children and young people how to behave is the responsibility of parents,

not schools or government.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Educating the youngest generations is often a topic of debate. Many people argue that it is the duty of the family to teach their children an appropriate social behavior. In my opinion, although parents are responsible for their children until their majority, I would object that the educational system and the community in general have also an essential role in their education.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that parents are responsible for their children as the law requires to feed them, provide a shelter and education until their majority. Their behavior in society will be primarily modeled at home as they will repeat what they have seen at home. As a consequence, it is primordial for the parents to be a role models in order to provide their children the best examples to follow.

On the other hand, I believe that parents are not the only players in children education. Schools and associations are an important place to socialize with persons from outside of the family cell. Teachers, educators and other children have a crucial role in the development of their social skills as they will be acquainted to individuals from other social and family backgrounds. A child without any contact with the outside world would experience difficulties to be successfully integrated in the society.

To summarize, although the role of parents is crucial to prepare their children to future social interactions, they are not the sole responsible as they delegate their tuition to the education system when they are at school. In my opinion this will give children the opportunity to be given other examples than the ones given at home, developing better develop their social skills.