Today, televison is one of the most essential electronic devices in our houses. Talent shows consist in interesting shows on TV and people enjoy watching them for entertainment. The organizers declare that they use these show to find talented people, but in my view, these shows are just entertainment.

Firstly, I assure that the main purpose of talented shows is to gain a lot of money as much as they can. They don't organize the shows for free. For this financial aim, they try to generate many false or exaggerated situations to attract the audiences to watch their shows on TV. The more people watch their show, the more money they get from advertisements. For example, when I watched a talent shows called Vietnam Got Talent on TV, there was a funny situation, but It was fairly easy to find out that situation had happened with previously prepared scenario.

Secondly, talent shows often have no limit for examinee's performance. Examinees can sing, draw, do some magic or show some their special abilities. However, there are often 3 or 4 judges with different backgrounds, typically they are singer, model or musician so it's difficult for them to assess the performance of the examinees fairly. Also the judges are often affected by the organizers so they can make some unfair decisions. For example, if there are 2 people taking part in the contest, a person has quite better performance than the other but the other person is more beautiful, the judges affected by the organizers will tend to choose the more good-looking one because a good-looking examinee gains more the audiences for the shows.

Televised talent shows are not the only method to discover talented people. There are many other ways to do this such as organizing academic contest or specialized contest. These sorts of contest focus on one field so it will be easier and more effective to detect extremely talented people in that field.

In conclusion, to a certain extent, televised talent shows can find a handful of talented people but the aim of these shows are also constant - to gain money. We have plenty of better alternatives of finding talent. So everyone shouldn't be bordered with this problem, we just simply enjoy the shows.