Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, a lot of people spend their spare time sitting in front of the television watching from a wide range of different programs in offers. This development can lead to people being work-shy and also deter them from interacting with other people. In my opinion, I completely agree that spending so much time in front of TV affects the ability of people to work and socialise.

Sitting on a single position for hours makes people not to have the desire to do other things. In other words, individuals who spend hours watching different television programs hardly have the desire to cook their own food but instead order for fast food which most of the time are unhealthy. In addition, it can result to having more and more obese people in our society. A recent study in UK concluded that seventy percent of obese people in Manchester spend many hours watching different TV programs. Also, people do not have time to read books to enrich and broaden their knowledge.

Television watching encourage people to live in isolation. Individuals who spend so much time in their living room watching TV programs hardly have time to meet friends and even make new once. This can often lead to health problems such as depression and so on. Since they are always alone, they do not have time to participate in community activities, hence having no opportunity to socialise with others.

In conclusion, People occupy themselves on their spare time by watching television programs. This makes a lot of people indolent and hence deterring them from meeting others. In my opinion, I totally agree that spending so much time in front television makes individuals work-shy and unsocial.