Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole.

Discuss this view and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The choice of when, how and what to eat is largely dependent on religion, culture, wealth, health and a few other things. Although, many don’t consciously make such decisions themselves, but rather grow up in family and just follow suit with the diet type, while many other decide what type of food they eat. This therefore, as resulted in different eating habit with some deciding against eating fish and/or meat of any kind (this set of people are otherwise known as vegetarian). For me, whatever choice an individual makes, shouldn’t be anybody’s headache, so long it please him.

There are benefits of being a Vegetarian, so also is eating meat and/or fish. Some have chosen to be vegetarian considering the health benefits and also the impact on our global climate, and some others have chosen not to eat meat because they are sympathetic with the animal family, which we all belong, in one way or the other (In fact science as it on record that we are higher animal), whereas other decided to be a vegetarian as a result of religion or set of believes. For whatever reason an individual considered genuine for his decision should be well respected by all and sundry.

On the other hand, people who consume fish and/or meat as part of their meal, as given reasons to include, the fact that it allows for variety; there are different types of meat and/or fish to choose from, each one boasting different taste and flavour. Also is the fact that meat and/or fish is one of the highest form of protein, which is necessary for a balanced diet, suggesting that meat consumption is not any bad, even though too much of it may pose some health challenges.

Finally, it will be out of place, to judge any group (i.e. meat and/or fish eaters against vegetarians) on moral grounds. I therefore would be of the opinion that whatever anyone chooses to do, should be done with all modesty, while remembering that we have all got one time to live.