Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Television plays a major part in the majority of peoples’ lives; soap operas, sports programmes, music programmes, everyone has their favourites. However, watching television can take up a lot of spare time which could be used for social or leisure activities. In my opinion, if we limit the amount of television we watch, we can also enjoy our free time.

Television in some ways is a device that allows the viewer to relate to what is happening on the screen. We choose our favourite music from videos, get news, watch our preferred football teams, connect to the characters in the family drama and watch educational documentaries. We discuss our preferences with friends and co-workers when we talk to them so it can be said that TV enriches our emotional and cultural selves.

On the other hand, television has negative effects on the body, as well as social interaction. Doctors tell us that too much time sat down can lead to weight gain and heart disease and if we are sitting in front of the TV all the time it means we are not going out to meet our friends. I believe, if we watch television in moderation, we can enjoy our favourite programmes as well as have an active social life.

As a child, my parents insisted that I only watched one or two programmes a night. Today I captain my local football team and enjoy talking about the previous week’s programming after a match on Saturday. It is my opinion that, if we sit at home all the time watching television and do not go out, then it will have an unhealthy effect on our bodies, minds and friendships. However, if we regulate how much we watch and get on with other things, then TV can be a important part of our social lives.