Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, technological advancement has resulted in many people spending all of their spare time watching soap operas, music videos and other entertaining programmes. This development leads to people being indolent and not able to interact with others in the society. In my opinion, I completely agree that people who spend more of their spare time in front TV are work-shy and unsocial.

Television programmes influences people to live sedentary life style which has a negative impact on their health instead of engaging to other leisure and cognitive activities. In other words, many spend hours watching their favourite TV shows such as, soap operas and music videos, thereby, sitting on the same position for hours which cause health problems such as obesity and heart related issues. Also, they turn not to have the desire to prepare delicious and healthy food but depend solely on junk food. A recent study in UK concluded that seventy percent of obese people in Manchester spend many hours watching different TV programs and depends on fast food.

Nowadays people encounter a lot of problems because they lack interacting abilities. People turn to have connection with television characters and also enjoy watching their favourite shows, music videos, football games, get news and so on than they have when with people. This often results to people not being able to relate with others in the community. Studies have shown that those addicted to TV programs when young have difficulty finding a partner later in life.

In conclusion, People occupy themselves on their spare time by enjoying their most likes television shows, music videos and video games. This makes a lot of people indolent and hence deterring them from socialising. In my opinion, I strongly agree that media is causing a lot of health problems to individuals and at the same fragmenting our society