The television is good for you.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of watching television.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Television is considered to be a good means of entertainment for all generations. It is also helpful in terms of education. However, having bad exposure to television can be detrimental. There are several benefits and limitations of watching television, which will now be discussed.

Firstly, television is a good source of time pass for elder people, who stay alone at home most of the time. Also, various educational programs are broadcasted on television that are quite helpful for children. Moreover, people get to know about the latest news of the world from different news channels. We can gain the knowledge of current affairs and any other topic from television.Furthermore, there are several local channels that air the programs related to the local events of the city.

Admittedly, many shows on TV contain a lot of violent and vicious content that can have a bad influence on people, especially on youth. Some reality shows, for instance crime patrol, give the scandalous and wicked picture of society. Many youngsters become aggressive and wild after watching such outrageous programs on TV and this can sometime encourage people in doing criminal activities.

To conclude, it is an absolute individual choice of people on what programs they should watch on television. If programs are chosen wisely, then television is a very useful device. Otherwise, it can have a negative impact on our society.