Test topic

Many countries are now in the middle of a period of high economic growth. Some people feel this is a positive development that has allowed people to maintain a better standard of living free from poverty and hunger due to the increased job opportunities. Some others feel that unchecked economic development will have negative impacts on our surroundings due to the pollution that inevitably accompanies it. It is my opinion that the positive effects of a growing economy outweighs the negatives.

Environmentalists around the world are protesting the effect of industries on the deterioration of the environment. The industrial wastes have polluted the air and water and the level of pollution will only increase as a result of the growth and expansion of various industries. Cities like Beijing and Delhi have topped the charts of the most polluted cities in the world. Thus, growth of an economy usually comes at the expense of a clean, safe and green environment and countries should make sure there are appropriate regulations to curb the potential devastating effects on our environment.

A healthy economy is one of the key indicators of a country’s growth . In such countries, job aspirants will usually have no problem landing a job of their choice and are usually spoilt for choice with very high remuneration. To illustrate, India decided to open up its economy for more business in the early 90s and since then we have seen a dramatic increase in the living conditions of its citizens with most people leaping over the poverty line. Therefore, a growing economy is essential to ensure people have an opportunity to lead a better life free from hunger and poverty.

To conclude, economies around the world will continue to grow at a rapid pace. This essay discussed how this growth could affect the environment if not controlled but how it also elevates the living conditions of its citizens. In my opinion, the benefits of improved living standard for people far outweighs the effects on the environment which can be controlled by regulations.