Is there any value in studying academic subjects that are not useful in terms of generating wealth for the country?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

What subjects should be taught to children to create an efficient education system? This question remains a controversial issue as many people argue that children only should learn subjects which help generate wealth for the nation such as economics and finance. As far as I am concerned, many other subjects are essential to be included in any school curriculum.

Firstly, I would argue that every subject is useful in their own way, and none of them should be considered useless. For example, when studying arts, people are trained to feel the beauty of the world. They convey their thoughts, feeling, belief and attitude towards life. With the presence of artists, our life can become more colorful, sentimental and heart-touching. A country with a highly developed economy but without talented artists would be very dreary and tedious. It is the same case with music and photography. In terms of linguistics, it is a pivotal subject in all schools on our planet. Learning a language, studying deeply into how it works, how words and sentences are used is a wonderful way to improve human brain's functions. Also, languages enrich our knowledge and social visions by adding to our cultural perception.

Secondly, not just subjects like economics or finance can enrich the country. Let's take the example of arts. Artists with world wide famous paintings can sell them to make money or have them displayed in museums, as a result, attracting thousands of tourists from all over the world. Leonardo da Vinci and his painting, Mona Lisa, is a striking example. When it comes to astronomy, people now are bringing space travel into a new era of development. It will soon be commercialized and people can pay money to have a space trip just for entertainment. This newly born industry would contribute significantly to the national economy.

In conclusion, no subjects should be underrated and given less attention than others. People need more than just learning to make as much as money as they can. We have to develop our leisure life along with enrich our material world, that's why a diversity of subjects are included in our education system.