There is a growing demand for fresh water nowadays and this is becoming a global problem. Discuss the possible causes for it. What measures can be taken by governments and individuals to overcome this problem?

The needs of fresh water is increasing and becoming a worldwide concern. This issue most likely causes by inadequate rain for the impact of global warming, and the most practical solution is converting sea water into fresh water.

Greenhouse gases in the atmosphere caused the alteration in climate cycle, and rain becoming more unpredictable and extremely rare. If the rainfall along the year is not as much as required, it most likely the fresh water will be insufficient because the water in the aquifer which is the main resource in most part of the world will be deeper and unreachable. One of the countries which severe badly is Sudan. Based on CNN report in 2017, most Sudanese use water from well for daily need, and inadequate rain in last decade has led to a massive water availability problem because water level storage below the soil cannot be reached anymore.

The most possible solution for this severity is sea water utilization as a main resource of fresh water by a particular treatment called desalination. Sea water is an unlimited substance on earth, and it is almost certain that will be sufficient fountain if an enormous project of desalination working properly across the globe. A successful desalination project can be seen in the west coast Borneo island, Indonesia. A medium desalination project established in 2001 as solver of lack fresh water on hand. The project provide 200 M3 freshwater a day for 200 families. If this kind of project developed properly with larger capacity in more place, it is possible the suffering of water unavailability can be prevented.

In conclusion, an incline of freshwater demand approaching as one of global issue. The majority problem of fresh water necessity is global warming which reduced rainfall along the year, and the solution is establishing more desalination station as the main provider of fresh water.