These days people are using the Internet for shopping, work and to communicate with others without the need for face-to-face meetings.

Do the advantages of this development outweigh its disadvantages?

As technology is becoming to play a more centralized role in our everyday life, the way people shop, interact and work has changed radically. Owing to this, real world communication has taken a back seat. This essay will discuss two pros and cons of the increased reliance on the internet and would argue how the cons overshadow the pros.

Taking into considerations the advantages of the internet, it has brought convenience to its user. Whereas in the past, people have to be physically present in order to buy, work or interact, nowadays, all these tasks can be carried out at the touch of a button. This convenience leverage people to be more productive throughout the day and saves their time. Secondly, since most of the daily tasks can be accomplished within the four walls of the home, internet users save significant amount of money on transportation and vehicle maintenance because of eliminating the need of frequent travel to their workplace or shopping complexes.

On the other hand, the internet has its disadvantages as well; even though it can save time, sedentary lifestyle is a by-product of its use. This is because if people can perform their routine work sitting behind a screen, they are prone to become more stationary and could invite serious health issues such as obesity and poor cardiovascular health. On top of that, although internet can aid to make conversations around the world but the quality of those interactions is debatable. Apparently, physical intimacy and subtle cues of body language are missing during online interactions making them futile and less likely to be remembered. Clearly, the downsides completely eclipse the pros as convenience is outweighed by health and meaningful relationships.

In conclusion, the internet is a worthwhile tool that can help anyone to increase their productivity that too within the comfort of their home. However, compromising the opportunity of making real world interactions and healthy body is an unreasonable price to pay.