Three years ago, because of flooding at the Western Palean Wildlife Preserve, 100 lions and 100 western gazelle were moved to Eastern Palean Wildlife Preserve, an area that is home to most of the same species that are found in western preserve, though large in number, and to the eastern gazelle, a close relative of the western gazelle. The only difference in climate is that the eastern preserve typically has slightly less rainfall. Unfortunately, after 3 years in the eastern preserve, the imported western gazelle population has been virtually eliminated. Since the slight reduction in rainfall cannot be the cause of the virtual elimination of western gazelle, their disappearance must have been caused by the large number of predators in the eastern preserve.

The argument concludes that the disappearance of western gazelle is caused by large number of predators in the eastern preserve. While this might be a possible reason for disappearance there are several other explanations that may account for the problem which are completely neglected by the author.

First of all, the argument assumes that there is large number of predators in the eastern preserve. The author does not mention the exact number of predators in the eastern preserve. Also, it is assumed that there is no other animal except the western gazelle for the predators to hunt on. Hence the disappearance of the western gazelle is quiet questionable.

Secondly, the argument does not specify how much less the rainfall is in the eastern preserve compared to the western preserve. The term “slightly” is used to describe the difference between the two preserves which is ambiguous and does not hold a numeric value. Hence no proper conclusion can be drawn out. There might be a significant difference between the rainfall levels which would have made the western gazelle population go virtually extinct.

Thirdly, there might be a possibility that the western gazelle was unable to adapt the climatic conditions in the eastern preserve. There is no data pertaining to how the decline happened over the span of three years which would reveal whether the disappearance was gradual or sudden. If it was sudden then in no way would the western gazelle disappear due to predators.

To sum up, it can be concluded that due to unrealistic assumptions and lack of data, the conclusion drawn by the author is questionable.