Today more people are travelling than ever before.

Why is this the case?

What are the benefits of travelling to the traveller?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In the past, travelling was somehow impracticable to some parts of the globe but nowadays, an increasing number of people are travelling to their favourite destination than in the past. The main reasons for this growth are due to globalisation and excellent transportation network. This has benefited both business people and tourists.

Firstly, the major reasons for people travelling a lot recently are globalisation and efficient transportation system. That is to say, before, countries practice protectionism and there were no multi-national companies, therefore, no need for experts to work in foreign nations. But, ever since the world became a global village, there is always need for expatriates in foreign countries, most especially developing nations. Furthermore, excellent and efficient road network motivates people to travel more to their favourite destinations for holidays. Finally, a recent jump in budget flights, particularly in Europe, has encouraged many low and middle income families to take up vacations abroad.

Individuals derive different benefits for travelling to other areas. In other words, satisfaction depends on the purpose of the travel. For instance, a businessman travels to meet clients or investors which will be economic gain for him. Tourists, on the other hand, travel to experience new cultures, traditions and customs. This will help foster global understanding and acceptance of others. Also, some learn foreign languages in the course of their journey.

In conclusion, an increasing number of individuals are travelling recently than before as a result of global economy and the improvement of transport infrastructures. Consequently, travellers derive gain from making their journey.