Today much of the food people eat gets transported from farm that are thousands of miles away. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and economy if people only consumed food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Of course, reducing the import from alien countries is a debatable topic over many years. Some opine that this assertion will positively benefits many local farmer and also the environment while others oppose this view. This essay will evaluate both these assertions and reach at a sensible conclusion.

To begin with, by regulating free flow of food items, many a farmer, who is generally sidelined from the mainstream society in this industrialist era, gets an equal stake to be the part of a nation's development, for many countries completely rely on overseas food export rather than uplifting their already diminishing agriculture sector. Apart from that burning of fossil fuel can be reduced up to an extent by curtailing transportation of these food items; thus, catastrophic environmental pollution can be limited in this respect.

On the other hand, relaying solely on domestic agricultural products, no country can fulfill the ever increasing demand of nourishment. To elaborate, commonly different countries have different geographical features, and, thus, they are varied in the availability of natural resources resulting in the inequality in their food reserve. For example, Singapore, a country with total land area of 712 km and overall population of 50 lakhs, cannot survive without import from various part of the world. In addition to that it opens door many a man to acquire jobs in all sectors: primary, secondary, tertiary in way of not only production but also transportation of these food products.

TO sum up, although import of sustenance from all the world over has a few blemishes, especially some environmental concern, a nation cannot persist alone by its own entirely cutting down export, furthermore, it provides jobs for people of all walks of life and is a blessing for many countries. As such, it is not appropriate to limit the scope of this kind positive development.