Today’s food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

The advancement of technology make it easier for the people to get the kind of food that they wanted at their home. Todays

transportation and logistics sector should be credited for this scenario. Aeroplanes and trains are used to transport food items from far away places within a short period of time. I strongly believe that it is a positive trend.

First of all, it will be a great help to the producers of certain kind of food. They can find a global market for their product rather than the domestic market. Since the globalisation era, every countries economy is open to the world, so anyone can export any legal items to another country's market. For instance, Indian mangos are very famous around the world, earlier it was very difficult to get in another parts of the world. Now the situation has entirely changed, it is been exported to all around the world and anyone can enjoy its unique taste.

Secondly, these exports helps the country to earn foreign money. Many of the developing countries entire economy is depending up on this income. For example, if we take the example of meat export, India holds the leading positon with staggering quantity of 20,000 tonnes per year. It contributes almost 30% of the india's foreign money. Furthermore, these exports of food items also helpful to meet the demand of food in under developed countries, there people are facing malnutrition problem because of unavailability of adequate food supply.

Last but not least, some fruit items are purely seasonal like apple and orange. These world wide exports ensure the availability such kind of foods all around the year. Moreover these mass travel of food help the people to get a chance to experience any food items according to their taste and preference.

To recapitulate, it is evident that these mass exports of food items around the world is definitely a positive trend and this will continue to reach new heights in terms export quantity.