In today’s world of advanced science and technology, we still greatly value our artists such as musicians, painters and writers. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is incontrovertible that science has had a profound impact on all life aspects by introducing humankind to constant ground-breaking discoveries and inventions. In other words, science serves as an indispensable means to impart insights regarding how the world operates with its branches ranging from physics, chemistry, and biology to astronomy. However, this particular field of study does not seem to fully satisfy people’s boundless curiosity about other domains such as social matters or cultural and traditional values, while arts prove to convey such ideas effectively.

Arts reflect and inform us about cultural and traditional traits of a certain region. Journey to the West, one of the four outstanding classical novels of Chinese literature, is a remarkable example when it comes to conveying long-established Taoist and Buddhist philosophy as well as Chinese religious beliefs. These matters can hardly be discussed within the realm of science.

In addition, artworks can be used as historical evidence to teach history. Via their paintings, artists can represent major historical periods and create strong impressions about certain events on art admirers. For instance, Guernica, probably the most famous work by Pablo Picasso, succeeded in depicting the tragedy of war and the sufferings people had to incur after Nazi’s bombing on Guernica during the Spanish Civil War.

In conclusion, arts are of great significance when it comes to expanding people’s horizons in various subjects, an aspect which most sciences and technologies fail to do.