Too much money is wasted on exploring the oceans, this money will be better spent else where. Discuss both views.

Rivers, seas and oceans make 70% of the area on planet earth, where oceans form the largest water bodies. Some people think treasures lie hidden beneath these large water bodies and must be explored, despite expenditure. Whereas others believe that money must not be wasted on exploring oceans. This essay will discuss both the aspects of given topic.

The earth consists of 70% water and 30% land areas, where more than 70% water area comprises of oceans. Fortunes are being spent on exploring the hidden treasures beneath these large water bodies. On going researches and development of high technology gadgets in order to find, better alternates for fuels, consumption of this salty water after conversion into sweet drinkable form consumes high amounts in annual budgets of first world countries. The scientists are working on extraction of fossil fuels, hidden beneath the soils and rocks of these deep oceans. South Africa is currently suffering from scarcity of drinkable water, the researches and expenses on conversion of salty sea and ocean water would provide ample water for free consumption of human beings. Current situation of this scarcity and water deprivation demands urgent solution to this rising problem worldwide, in order to save life. Therefore, people supporting and advocating the expense on exploring oceans are looking at the greater picture, and trying to take measures for the support of humanity in years to come.

The other group of people that advocates expenditure of money and allocation for shorter terms, that includes fulfillment of basic needs of humanity worldwide including shelter, clean drinking water, three meals a day and basic education worldwide.The total expenditure on sending a team into deep waters for exploring alternate fuels and increasing the consumable water reserves, reaches thousands of dollars. This group lays great stress on serving the humanity and giving a better life today, which according to them would bring a better future as a result. This group condemns the expenditure of fortunes on a selected group of researchers and scientists, rather supports the expenditure of funds across the world. The malnourished children of Nigeria deserve more attention according to the people supporting this ideology. More literate people after a decade or two would help in better researches in future.

Considering both the aspects that fortunes must be spent on exploring oceans and spending else where has its own advantages and disadvantages, differing in short and long term results.