Vaccinating children against preventable diseases is not only unnecessary but also dangerous Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

A growing number of parents are skeptical about the effectiveness and safety of childhood immunization. These people claim that vaccinations are hazardous to children’s health and as such are not needed. Despite the fact that there are some potential risks of having children inoculated against life-threatening diseases, I strongly disagree with the idea of seeing vaccination as unnecessary and perilous to a large extent for two reasons.

To begin with, children should get vaccinated because immunization can protect them from fatal diseases and prolong their lives. Owing to advances in medical science, tens of thousands of children around the world can be safeguarded against more deadly diseases than ever before. Some infectious diseases that once injured or killed thousands of children have been completely eliminated and others are close to extinction. Polio, a crippling and potentially deadly infectious disease, is one example of the great impact that vaccines had on Canadian children. Polio was once Canada’s most-feared disease, causing death and permanent paralysis across the country. However, thanks to vaccination, there are no reports of polio in Canada now.

In addition, vaccines are safe for children because they must undergo extensive clinical trials, pass many safety tests and get approval before they are given to people. For example, when a new vaccine is ready to be tested in people, it is first given to a few people to check the dose and its safety. It is then given to larger numbers, such as hundreds or thousands of people, to make sure it is safe and effective. If one participant in this lengthy and meticulous examination is reported to have harmful side effects, this vaccine will be permanently banned from the public. Even if a vaccine has been approved for use, its safety is periodically monitored by specialists at health departments.

To recapitulate, it is imprudent to repudiate childhood vaccination and consider it unnecessary and unsafe. Vaccines approved for use are credited with saving millions of people’s lives and preventing outbreaks of deadly diseases a year worldwide. People who are against vaccination have a flawed understanding of this preventive measure and underestimate the positive effects that vaccines may have on children. In my opinion, vaccinating children is an absolutely imperative and safe despite the small and occasional risk involved.