Marriages are bigger and more expensive nowadays than in the past. Why is this the case? Is it a negative or positive development?

In recent years, there has been considerable discussion on the causes of extravagant wedding ceremonies. This trend is ascribed to two factors and I think it is a negative development.

There are two reasons why modern marriage is bigger and more expensive than in the past. To begin with, people are richer than before. For example, with the development of economy and education, people have more incomes, so they have more money to hold a better wedding ceremony. In addition, people value the quality of life. Compared with people in the past, modern people live a wealthier life, so they care more about the happiness and rituals. Because of these two factors, marriages are much better than those in the past.

I think this trend is a negative development because holding extravagant wedding ceremonies will make poor people suffer considerable stress. For instance, following this social trend, a new couple who is going get married must get enough money to hold a big and expensive wedding ceremony. On the one hand, if this couple has some savings, they have no choice but to spend all of them on their marriage; therefore, they will have no money left for their lives. On the other hand, a couple without any savings will face much more difficult situations because they have to borrow more money from families or banks. However, it is likely that they are not able to pay back the money and thus fall into huge debt.

In conclusion, the tendency towards holding bigger and more expensive marriages is caused by the improvement of people’s material life and their emphasis on the life quality. However, this trend has a negative impact on society, especially poor people. Therefore, this practice should not be encouraged.