What are the advantages and disadvantages of living in a large city?

Nowadays, living in a big city is becoming increasingly popular. For many people, especially the young , making it big in a large city is their goals. However, there are both pros and cons of doing this. In this essay, I will discuss some of the reasons why living in large city is so popular and some of the challenges to overcome.

Let's start by looking at the advantages of living in a large city. One of the biggest advantages of living in a big city is that it broadens your horizons. Big cities are where a lot of people around the world headed to work or study. By that, you stand a chance of meeting with people from different backgrounds and diverse culture. This make you more experienced as a person.

Another positive of living in a large city is better life quality. Living in a large city is significantly more convenience than that in a rural area because infrastructures there are more invested. In large cities, there are modern public transport systems, chains of restaurants and coffee shops, etc. that suburbans don't have. Moreover, living in a large city offers you a much bigger jobs and education opportunities. Working or studying in a large city, which is such a competitive environment, can gain you experient. Furthermore, large cities a where a lot of prestigious school and big firms are located, expanding your chances of succeeding.

Turning to the other side of the argument, living a big city do have some drawbacks that you will have to cope with. Firstly, the cost of living can be a burden. Rent, groceries, gas, etc. are all more expensive than those in the outskirts or satellite towns. Secondly, society's vices are huge problems. Hundreds of robbery cases happen everyday. Researches have also shown that the crime rate in big cities are higher than that in peaceful suburban area. Thirdly, competitiveness can be beneficial, but it can also turn into a disadvantage. If your productivity is not as high as your other collegues or does not live up to the head of the firm's expectations, you will stand a chance of being fired at all time. Renting houses or other living standards in large cities can also be extremely competitive due to overpopulation.

All considered, living in a large city is never easy in spite of some certain positives. You can be offered better life quality and bigger career opportunities, but you are also under pressure of maintaining it. Personally, I believe whether living in large cities or suburban areas are more advantageous depends on different people's points of view and their goals in life.