What are the main differences between TV and Internet?

The era in which we live is known as the age of information technology and multimedia captivated almost all the residents of the globe. Among the various types of multimedia resources, TV and internet have the most significant influence on human's life. Although there are some eye catching similarities between them, there are a few determinant differences as well, such as the expenditure and variety of information.

The first significant difference between TV and Internet is the variety of information that we can obtain through them. In most of the countries, government authorities are those who decide what to be broadcasted on TV and people should opt among the specific programs but Internet provides a wide range of information for all people in different ages and each individual can choose his favorite program based on his taste. Moreover, internet programs are accessible from anywhere and the latest news is reachable easily. To support my claim, I can refer to an article having been published in Times magazine, indicates that 60% of people follow the news through web.

The second noticeable issue that makes a distinguish difference between these two medias is the amount of money that should be paid for accessing them. It is true that in most of the countries people can access the TV programs for free because the governments are responsible for the expenses. On the other hand, internet is widely used all over the world but people should pay for it because the telecommunication section is in charge of it which is not a state organization. Consequently, accessing to the internet is much more expensive in comparison with TV.

To sums up, not only internet but also TV are the most popular medias among the residents of the world and individuals can select between them according their needs.