What distinguishes young people from their parents or grandparents generation is lack of physical exercise. Today’s generation are spending far too long playing computer games, chatting aimlessly on social networking sites or simply watching TV and too little time being active.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In present era, children used to spend more time on social networking sites, playing virtual games or watching television, as compare to their parents used to spend in their childhood. Though this may not be the statement of fact for every individual, but it’s true for majority of young generation. Many factors are contributing to this scenario, which can be seen as elaborated below.

With urbanization of society, especially in big cities and towns, the play grounds and gardens are vanishing. Every toddler is tide up with his / her own schedule of school or college, coaching classes, extracurricular classes and studies. Hence no enough time is available for exercise and playing physical games. Other way round, in the school days of our parents or grandparents, the schedule for all the children was almost matching hence many friends were available during their play time. Also as technology evolution was not there during that era, so electronic gadgets like video games, television, internet was not into existence at all or may be just emerging. Now-a-days parents are also busy in their work schedule and can hardly give any time for their kids. This leads to weak family bonds and a kid becomes introvert. Hence he finds it more appealing to spend time on social networking sites rather than making real friends.

But in spite of all these odds, due to higher stress levels in today’s young people, and understanding it’s ill effects on health of an individual, many people engages themselves in morning walks, yoga or laughter clubs. They also try to attend gyms on regular basis to become fit and healthy. So it’s not the case of un-awareness but many youngsters are enthusiastic about their health and spending time in physical activities. Some are using bicycles or going by walk for visiting nearby places instead of cars or public transport. Try to get some gym equipment in the home itself.

So to conclude, I can say that with times and modernization, today’s techniques of being active have been changed as compared to older generations. But with more and more awareness towards healthier and stress free life style with use of exercises and yoga, people are developing interest in it.