When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Architecture has a pivotal role in our society as many famous buildings have attracted global attention for their aesthetic beauty while boosting the economy through tourism. At the same time, functionality of buildings should also be considered since the main purpose of buildings are providing shelter when fulfilling specific requirements. Thus, this essay argues that both the intended purpose and aesthetic beauty are equally important.

First of all, buildings differ from one another based on its purpose. A house usually has limited number of floor levels than business buildings. It is considered to be a private space and has one specific purpose—living and raising a family. Yet, people often expect their house to be appreciated by others. It gives them a sense of pride and appreciation. For example, when my best decided to purchase a property with a house in it, the first thing he asked me was whether the house was pleasing to the eyes. He was also concerned if his family would love its outside beauty.

Moreover, aesthetic works are enjoyed by all. Many nations around the world such as the USA, the UAE and Australia are known for their exceptional constructions like the World Trade Centre, Birj khalifa and Opera house, Sydney. These buildings have made these nations very proud of their architectural skills, while increasing tourism, which brings economic benefits.

However, the intended use should also be taken into account lest people want to be disappointed in terms of functionality. For example, my cousin bought an expensive office, solely based on its good looks; he regretted the decision because it could not meet his requirements of durability and low maintenance.

In conclusion, buildings should be constructed keeping in mind their aesthetic value while being useful for the supposed cause. This will help the owner feel satisfied when being productive for the intended purpose.