Without capital punishment the death penalty our lives are less secure and crimes of violence increase Capital punishment is essential to control violence in society To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion

No doubt, there have been numerous debates and discussions regarding the death penalty and the safety of the public at large. There have been differing opinions on the subject. Others believe the death sentence is unnecessary, while others believe it is essential for specific crimes to be punished this way. There are two conflicting opinions that will be discussed in this essay in order to find out which one is more acceptable.

People may assume that the death penalty is necessary because it lessens the severity of criminal acts at first glance. Several years ago in Taiwan and the United States, people were accidentally shot or stabbed by strangers. People feel that applying the death penalty is the most effective way to lessen public anxiety and dissuade criminals, therefore reducing the number of crimes committed. If crime rates are reduced and societal values are upheld, then I believe the death penalty should be utilized.

However, other individuals believe that punishment should not go all the way to death. As a first step, they realize that a short sentence in jail will suffice. They are also aware that, despite the fact that death punishment has been around since the beginning of the law, it has had no impact on curbing crime. There are several ways in which criminals might be put to use for the good of society under government oversight. These criminals may, for example, work in mines, which is a physically difficult task to achieve.

To summarize, both viewpoints seem to be viable since they both have a logical basis. However, for the reasons already indicated, I totally support the final point of view.

(274 words)

You can develop your writing skills by reading the IELTS Writing

Capital Punishments-Band 7.5 IELTS model essay

There is no denying that violent crimes have significantly grown in frequency in recent years. While many people think the death penalty is not the best way to stop this violence, in my opinion, it is very essential.

First and foremost, offenders must fear the repercussions of their behavior. This is significant because for many people, the dread of dying might be overwhelming and incite them to think about their act. Even watching another individual go through the experience makes them reluctant to continue. For instance, Saudi Arabia maintains stringent penalties for violent crimes like murder and rape, which is why the country's crime rate is so low. As a result, knowing they may be executed for their crimes may deter someone from doing them in the first place.

Opponents, on the other hand, assert that there is no solid evidence that the death sentence serves as a deterrent. The rate of violent crimes, including murder, hasn't changed considerably in those nations where the death penalty hasn't been abolished yet. The death penalty, in opponents' view, is neither a cause nor a remedy for a culture of violence. You can't anticipate that two wrongs can make a right since retribution is merely another term for revenge. They also think that supporters downplay the crucial reality that wrongful sentencing might result in the deaths of innocent individuals.

In conclusion, the government should focus more on excellent citizens than on inmates who have hurt society. A violent criminal should not be kept alive. These people should be excluded as quickly as possible to deter others with similar goals.