(work with mistakes)

Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of museums that take money for entrance keeps growing in many countries. Although some doubt the benefits of the policy, I believe that merits beat drawbacks. Below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details.

On the one hand, there are those who criticize the trend. They point out that if people are forced to buy tickets, they will avoid paying visit to the place and the number of visitors will decrease. At the same time, there is no guarantee that allowing people inside for free will attract the same number of spectators from year to year. In fact, if museums administration is not interested in attracting new public, because they do not get any profit out of it, they may have been keeping the same exposition for ages; consequently, people will likely get bored with the same stuff demonstrated. Thus, it seems that the

number of visitors may be impacted by other factors than taking fee.

On the other hand, there are museums that sell tickets to public. The employees that work here are highly motivated to woo as much people as possible. Thus, there are new exhibitions of famous and well-known authors and artists who are invited to appeal the folk. Moreover, there is another benefit – museums are able to collect, perhaps, large amount of money that can be spent on renovation of buildings, exposition or buying new masterpieces. In other words, charging fee has auspicious effect on personnel’s motivation, development and maintenance of exposition and on public’s satisfaction.

To sum up, there are some possible drawbacks of the policy that may be caused by other factors; but there are some conspicuous benefits that have been discussed above that devaluate the plausible disadvantages.