In the world of internet, people write on internet about a product’s reviews and opinions about a service. Is it a good thing or bad thing?

Internet is been a sensation since its inception, its contributions to humans are irreplaceable. Most businesses are using the internet technology to promote their sales online, these online sites provide the option of reviewing the product or service to users. Let’s discuss the positives and also the downsides of user reviews.

The appreciable quality of reviews is, it allows the users of a service or product to convey satisfaction or disapproval to the manufacturers or service renderers. Ratings for a product serves as a quality indicator to other users, helping them whether or not choose an equipment, work for an employer, register for a course, without hindsight. For example, if we are interested to buy a laptop on amazon, we can make a choice based on the rating for the product. These recommendations come from registered current or previous users of the product. Reviews on the reputed sites like amazon, google are trustworthy, as they host registered and verified users.

There are cases of inappropriate usage of review system, reviews from unverified users of fake online accounts pose the threat of undermining the reputation of a company. Internet security is mandatory to inhibit such cyber activity. An example relating to film industry gives more insight of this activity, the recent trend of assessing a movie by assigning star reviews is popular in all parts of the world and bad reviews to a movie from questionable users is an attempt to affect the movie collections and spread negative publicity.

After examining all the effects of online reviews, the advantages of reviews, like its usefulness to the prospective buyer out-weighted its negative effects. But enough thought should be put in to impede the propagation of negative publicity from unauthorized reviewers.