Write about the following topic:

Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment.

What damage does plastic do to the environment?

What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

It is no secret for most populations in developed countries that aging is an increasing phenomenon, with better healthcare and lower fertility rates. This brings forth the question of geriatric care being more of a nation-level responsibility requiring more involvement from the public sector.

Proponents of this demand argue that today's old people are yesterday's laborforce and tax-payers. Just like the rest of retirement benefits and pension plans, the government should give back to this population by making sure they receive the care they need. This is especially the case knowing that geriatric care oftentimes has medical justifications as well, meaning that it should be contextualized as a healthcare service. Needless to say, given the humanitarian nature of healthcare services, they make better use of not having primarily profit-driven agents maintaining them on their own; hence the role of the government.

On the other hand, a one-size-fits-all approach to most social systems has repeatedly proven deficient. Geriatric care is no exception. Leaving some room for families to pick their own preferences and participate in customizing their loved ones' care allows for innovation and further fuels the economy. This is particularly relevant in the absence of medical necessity. Being my self a first-hand witness, it is safe to say that lots of geriatrics might opt for such homes simply to be part of a community, to be surrounded by like-minded people and get to take part in cultural and cognitive activities that are otherwise unavailable or less accessible.

Like most polarizing dichotomies, it turns out that a hybrid system is most likely to be the best choice. In Britain, the role played by the government is so far minimal, covering only for cases of dementia. We should do better to make sure other medical needs, be them mental or physical, are not addressed any less, all while giving families and the private sector some schemes to work together the appropriate personalized solutions.