Write about the following topic The television is good for you Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of watching television

The television has been a wonderful invention and may not necessarily be a bad thing. Other than serve as a form of entertainment, the television can also be used to educate people of all ages. It also functions as a means to destress oneself after a tough day at work.

Children could use television programs to watch education shows at home to improve their language proficiency through programs such as Sesame Street or other entertaining educational shows. Apart from language improvement, some television programs screen science, history and geography documentaries that help immensely towards broadening the knowledge of individuals across all ages. For some learners, watching television may be easier than reading books.

That being said, not all television shows are educational and viewers could easily tempt themselves into binge watching such as watching sports programs across the entire day or watching a marathon TV series. These programs discourage a healthy lifestyle and turns us into couch potatoes. As the saying goes, too much of anything is bad for you.

Sometimes there may be many choices available to watch from. Desiring many channels could burn a hole through our pockets paying for several hundreds of channels most of which we might not event watch, let alone spending all that time simply flicking through channels.

Finally, the TV could have the disadvantage of disengaging us from the people around us, just like the internet currently does. Too much of TV spoils social interactions and having a good chat with the family.