Young people are often influenced by their peers.

Do the advantages of peer pressure outweigh the disadvantages?

Peers play a pivotal role in youngsters’ life. In my opinion, peer pressure has both merits and demerits depending on the situation, which will be highlighted in the upcoming paragraphs.

Peer pressure brings forth a lot of mega-merits. Firstly, it is beneficial in terms of setting good examples for each other. If youngsters are in the company of age fellows who are more committed to achieving their goal, it is more likely to get influenced to be more goal-oriented. For example, when students work with intelligent classmates, then they tend to perform better academically because teenagers tend to imitate each other when they are unsure of how to behave in a social environment. Hence, peer pressure has benefited youngsters in improving their performance.

The drawback associated with peer pressure is that teenagers engage themselves in self-destructive behavior. This is to say, the risk of young adults becoming a drug abuser increase to many folds in the environment of cigarette smokers or drug abusers. As youngsters want to get the social benefits of this such as being accepted among peers or feeling more social then they are to evaluate the negative effects. For instance, youngsters often blow off important career or academic opportunities to impress their friends or refuse to accept help because peers would be critical.

To sum up, from the above discussion, it can be concluded that peer pressure has both pros in the form of building up an individual, and cons in equal proportion depending on the type of peer an individual has.