1. People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experience, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university?

It goes without saying that in such a sophisticated world where the technology growing so fast that it could hardly be believed, universities play an important role in the societies. The inevitable question which has always caused heated debate among academicians is what is the most important reason to attend universities. From my vantage point, the most important reasons are to increase knowledge, to prepare for career, to gain new experiences. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most outstanding reasons.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that students have the opportunity to increase their knowledge. As they decide what they want to study, pursue their studies, and interact with their classmate, they learn a lot about themselves. They also have the opportunity to learn about many subjects in their classes directly and indirectly. As an example, when I was attending NY University around five years ago, since I like psychology a lot, I used to go some psychology classes in addition to my major courses. Moreover, since I had to give presentations for many different classes, I learned how to use Internet as a powerful source of information and also learned how to use many different software such as Power point, Matlab and so on.

Another reason which deserves some words here is that university gives you the chance to be well prepared for your future job. Nowadays, the job market is very competitive. Interaction with other people improves your social skills and self-confidence. Sometimes you have the opportunity to work as a team member. In this case, you can realize your abilities to communicate with others, face with failure in some projects and find innovative solution for the problems. In addition, if you are interested in academic jobs, you can try to be a research assistant or teacher assistant. At college, students can learn new skills and increase their opportunities for the future.

Although the aforementioned reasons are the first ones which cross the mind at first glance, they are by no means the only reason available. Actually, there is another subtle point which must be borne in mind that universities are one of the best places to gain new experiences. for many students it is the first time that they are away from home. At college, they can meet new people from many different places. They can see what life is like in a different city. They can learn to live on their own and take care of themselves without having their family always nearby.

To make a long story short, I believe, the main reasons that people attending universities are knowledge improvement, career preparation and new experiences. Taking all the aforementioned into account, it can be concluded that universities play a key role in societies. Therefore, I highly suggest people to attend university.