1. Which area the government should fund to improve children’s education?

a) hiring more teachers to teach in a small class

b) preschool education before kindergarten

c) providing some training courses so that teachers can be more professional

This is a skeptical age, but although our faith in many of the things in which our forefathers fervently believed has weakened, our confidence in the benefits of education remains the same as theirs. So as long as the issue that which area should governments fund to improve teaching quality is involved, people tend to show positive attitude towards preschool education. However, I, with more discretion, insist that we can ill afford to determine this matter once and for all, since countries with different background should be taken into account.

Without doubt, by no means are we supposed to neglect the fact that in some cases preschool education plays an important role in strengthening the teaching quality, especially when we take develop nations into account. Considering that education system remains several parts including preschool education, basic education, higher education and continuing education,establishing such a huge system needs a huge amount of money. In addition, it’s a truth universally acknowledged that the education a person receives in childhood is the foundation of his future academic and career life,and therefore laying great emphasis on preschool education will yield profound profits. Examples abound in this world among which the experience of the US government is a case in point. The budget on education of the US, one of the wealthiest countries,tops the world. Every President of the US allocates 10% of K-12 education budget on kindergarten, which effectively relieve the teaching pressure of primary school and substantially improve the teaching quality of K12.

To my certain knowledge though investment on preschool education boosts the teaching quality, it’s irrational for us to take it for granted that it’s correct under all circumstances, particularly for those undeveloped countries. To be specific, there’s no denying that governments of undeveloped nations have limited budgets, as a result of which policy makers have to strike a balance between expenditure and effect. If governments of undeveloped countries allocate proper budgets on training teachers, the chances are that students are able to receive better education and governments do not have to spend too much money. Sudan is a case in point. As poorest nation in the north Africa, Sudan is still facing such problems: famine, soaring unemployment rate, and obsoleteinfrastructures. Obviously, Sudan government cannot afford the whopping expenditure of establishing well-rounded preschool education. In order to enhance education in whole, training teachers is an affordable Band-Aid solution.

Based on the aforementioned analysis, we can come to a conclusion safely that the answer to this question depends on the specific situation of countries. For developed countries, investing on preschool education is a wise choice. However, when undeveloped nations are involved, governments are supposed to fund on training teachers