The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily

Friendship is the most valuable relationship in our life. The friends that we possess have an ability to enhance or degrade our life. Personally, I partially agree with the given statement. I feel this for a several reasons and I will explain them in this essay.

Firstly, if we manage to maintain our friendships over a long period of time, that is an excellent quality. After only three to four years of being friends, we can totally rely on our friends with any decision in life. Long-term friends tend to know us inside out. For example, I have a group of three close friends, whom I know since school. We are now friends for over 8 years. Recently, I discussed with them one work task I was procrastinating as I was having a self-doubt. Knowing how I deal with my work, my friends suggested me to give it a try and if I not succeed in one try, then I can think of assigning that task to someone else. As suggested, I gave that task some of my time, and to my surprise, the solution was right in front of me. I was just too afraid to make a first move. This taught me that, cherishing long-term friendship is like a blessing in disguise.

On the other hand, according to me, we should also possess the ability to make new friends easily. This makes us come out of our comfort zone. New friends provide us with an opportunity to explore new paths in life and make peace with it. To illustrate, while attending a psychology workshop, I got to know a student who was learning finance as his major. A few minutes into talking to him, lead us to an interesting topics of adventure treks that was his hobby. By this time, I had never been to a trek which involves activities like crossing a river, climbing down from a mountain, etc. But, with this new friend, I went on a trek to place few miles away from my city, which I would rather not done. The trek introduced me to a lot of new people and I had a lot of fun there doing all the adventurous activities. I had never explored this side of me, as there was no background of trekking in my family. I was completely happy to meet this new friend. This made me realize that some of the best experiences in our life come unexpectedly, just as we make new friends.

In this way, I think we should never restrict ourselves in life, confining our experiences to limited people. Whenever we get a chance, we should consider making new friends and growing our network, after all, what's life without friends? And why shouldn't we have more of them?