Agree or disagree It is better to use your own knowledge and experience to solve problems than to ask others for advice

Modern society, dominated by the idea of individualism, attaches excessive importance to self-reliance. However, I believe in the value of consulting others when we are confronted with problems.

Admittedly, it can be argued that solving problems independently enables one to develop a deeper grasp of the issue at hand. This is understandable considering how long we spend pondering on, manipulating, and eventually resolving the problem. However, overemphasizing independence should by no means be regarded as some sort of gold principle and indeed it is not the optimum approach to tackling challenges.

To begin with, seeking advice can be far more effective to overcome difficulties. When one is puzzled by one issue at hand, it is more than likely that he neglects some crucial aspects. Under such circumstances, it is no use focusing on whatever he already comes up with; turning to other perspectives is obviously more sensible. Observed from various angles, the majority of mysteries should be unraveled, leading to the "Eureka" moment more elegantly. My own experience should suffice to illustrate the point. In high school, studying 3-D geometry was a daunting task for me since I had trouble visualizing the 3-D objects in my mind. Originally, I thought I could manage to tough it out on my own just as I learned all other subjects. However, apparently, I underestimated the adversity imposed by the lack of talent. Frustrated for several weeks on end, I gave up and resorted to my friend, who had a natural geometric talent. Such help smoothed the learning to curve since I improved in efficiency and was able to analyze more problems. With some patterns found and tricks acquired, I then performed better in geometry.

In addition, seeking assistance contributes to healthy, positive relationships. For one thing, psychologists have long proved that as human beings have a strong inclination to maintain a cognitive consistence, when they show a goodwill gesture to someone, they tend to think of him as someone to be worthy of their goodwill. Then it is only natural that when others invest time and energy in us, they will develop a more favourable impression on us. Therefore, seeking advice from others actually makes them like us. Moreover, once resorting to others' help, we also hint that we are willing to lend a hand in the future, and if such obligation is fulfilled as expected, trust grows between both parties. Businessmen know better than anyone that helping and being helped are intertwined closely and both of them are indispensable in building personal connections with others.

To conclude, seeking advice from others results in several positive outcomes, including improving effectiveness and building healthy relationships, so I am convinced that one should not face challenges alone.