Agree or disagree The most important characteristic of a successful leader or politician is the ability to communicate well

It is universally acknowledged that political leaders have a significant influence towards citizen's quality of life. There are often controversies over the important characteristics of a good political leaders. In my standpoint, despite the need of a combination of various skills, the most crucial and indispensable ability to be a political leader is the communication skill. I would delve into the reason behind it.

To commence with, good communication skills allow a leader to convey his or her ideology to the followers, which is crucial as citizens would only support the leader when they understand the leader's ideology. Throughout history, the best leaders among all always use their communication skills to elucidate their thought and pursue people to follow them. There is no a better manifestation than the famous leader Martin Luther King, who delivered the renowned speech I Have a Dream to the citizens which encouraged people to confront racisim, hatred, and inequality.

Some critics may point out that successful leaders need a combinations of abilities, and accordingly, communication skill is not the most important one among them. However, this lead to our second point, that it is impossible for people to master in all different area, yet good communication skills enable people to find others to help them. A political leader, when making decision, is required to consider a wide range of aspects, from economic to diplomatic impact. It is impossible for one to be an expert in all of these field, especially when considering the increasing complexity of politcal system nowadays. Therefore, a political leader often leads a team with economists, diplomatists, militarists, and many other experts to help him or her. It is therefore crucial for the leader to communicate with the teammates before making the decision.

Judging from the above evidence, it could never be overemphasized the importance of communication skills as it allows leaders to convey their ideology and enable them to lead a team to help them.