To be successful at work or at school, we must be creative

Being successful has several meanings, and each of us has a different definition of success. To some people, being rich and renowned is success, whereas some think that maintaining happy and healthy family is a way of success. Most common meaning of success may be doing outstanding work and being promoted faster than colleagues at work or getting good grades at school. In this regard, I agree with the statement that we should be creative to be successful in our lives for a number of reasons, and I will develop these ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, being creative is important to be successful in the information age. In the past, people with more knowledge and experience had power. Before the advent of internet, books and experience were almost the only source to get information when people did their jobs. However, these days, people can search and google almost everything very easily if they have access to internet. With a flood of information, creative people who knows how to use their knowledge and create new things which others can’t think of are likely to be successful at their work. For example, there is a very famous Youtuber named Dotti in Korea. He used his creativity to make video contents of playing Minecraft for kids. There were many people who enjoyed Minecraft, but he was the first person who came up with the idea of recording how he played the game and providing video lectures of the game strategy for kids. His idea was a huge success and made him very popular among school kids. Drawing from this example, creativity is a key factor for success these days.

Second, creative people can bring more efficient while working, and thus, tend to be successful at work. Being creative means that people are open-minded and flexible thinkers. For this reason, creative people tend to think up of innovative ideas that can cause more productivity at work. For instance, my brother used to be very creative since he was young. When we drew something together, he always made me surprised with creative color combination and paintings. Thanks to his creativity, he could be successful at his work, too. As a computer programmer, he was good at finding problems and new solutions. His way of creative and flexible thinking helped him develop easy ways to perform projects faster than his coworkers, and he got promoted very soon after he started his work.

Considering the above reasons, I strongly believe that people must be creative to be successful. With the advent of internet, everything is a matter of speed. Only people or company who bring new ideas faster than others survive in the information age, and creativity works crucial there.