Because the use of technology such as computers in classrooms for young students has led to many improvements in learning, some people believe that there should be no limits on the number of hours that young students spend using technology during school day. Others believe that too much time spent using technology during school day is harmful and that their use of technology should therefore be limited to one hour or less daily. Which view do you support and why?

Technology like computers is involved in our world from sorted trash to satellite control, making our life easy, convenient and efficient. In contemporary schools, modern products appear in classrooms as an important tool and more students use these inventions to obtain advanced knowledge. Therefore, some people believe that there should be no limits on the number of hours that young people spend using technology. Others hold the view that there should be some restrictions. As far as I am concerned, I agree with the latter point.

Firstly, too much time spent on using high-tech creations would harm children’s health. If kids stare at a screen for a long time and keep one motion constant, their eyesight will suffer greatly and their bodies will be deformed. For example, according to a recent survey, many young people have very poor eyesight and need glasses to see a blackboard clearly. The reason is that most children are exposed to technological products at a very young age so that their eyes are badly hurt and impossible to recover from later. As a result, there should be some limitations on the time that kids spend in school. Young generations should attend more outdoor activities such as basketball games or going around an exhibition. Therefore, adults should require children to use scientific inventions during some specific hours a day. This is conducive to their healthy growth.

In addition, it is difficult to ensure that a child does not get distracted after prolonged exposure to a calculating machine. There are a lot of interesting things in them, like all kinds of movies and videos. Children are easily attracted to such amusing content because they have little self-control. For instance, when I use the computer to study, I may be pretty focused at the beginning, and then I am drawn to lots of funny programs, so that my work efficiency is drastically declining. It is hard for me to not be influenced by those programs, let alone young students. Besides, there is some harmful information on the Internet like drugs and violence. If young people are accidentally exposed to these matters, it is tough to guarantee that their mind and body are not infected. Hence, kids should be required to use technology at certain times during school.

Finally, although some parents may think that younger generations should learn how to use high-tech creations as early as possible since technology has played an indispensable role now and in the future and those practical skills could bring them lots of improvements in their studies, I believe that there should be some requirements for the number of daily use hours. Besides using computers for a long time, children should also take part in more scientific and technological activities and exchange ideas with their classmates. There are some important things that modern innovations can not give them.

To sum up, from what has been discussed above, I hold the view that there should be confinement on the number of hours that young students spend using technology during school day since too much time immersed in contemporary machines would damage their body as well as mental health, their study could also be distracted.