The best way to increase students’ interest in a subject is to explain to them how this subject can help them in their lives outside the school.

Currently, society is full of fierce competition, therefore city dwellers are attaching more attention to the education industry so as to enhance their competitiveness. However, they reckon that the obstacle preventing them from absorbing knowledge is that they are not interested in the subject they learn. To solve this problem, some individuals are fully convinced that the preferred option to grapple with this issue is to explain to those people enslaved by it that this subject can help them in their lives upon graduation. Personally speaking, I cannot concur with this opinion. I harbor the idea that the leading choices are employing diversified pedagogical methods and more exposure to subjects for the following reasons.

To start with, nowadays, with the advancement of technology, there is an increasing number of electronic devices coming out every day, therefore teachers can adopt these high-tech products to engage students’ interests in subjects. Initially, the video game is a terrific tool that ought to be adopted. To be more specific, students are born with their interests in playing games. Driven by their enthusiasm for fun games, they try to become engrossed in video games. For example, if a chemistry teacher applies one video game in his class, all of his students are capable of exploring the wonderland of chemistry in a image-rich and animation-empowered manner, instead of plowing through the tedious textbooks or other materials. Furthermore, each time they receive the experience or coins as rewards after they finish the required tasks, they are rendered a sense of fulfillment, which future incentivize to study harder, like pondering the theorem in different aspects. Hence, adopting high-tech products is beneficial to nurture students’ zeal for specific subjects.

What’s more, more exposure to subjects also plays an determinant role in evoking students’ interests. Citizens, especially those well-educated citizens, are not only motivated by the rewards or compensate they can promised obtain in the future, but also stimulated by authentic appreciation. Since the most effective approach to germinate authentic appreciation is to expose individuals to the specific atmosphere or circumstance, more vivid activities should be involved in curriculum contents. For instance, Rebecca, one of my best buddies, was not interested in art. In order to avoid the drudgery, she named it, of painting, she even skipped the art class. However, once there was an are exhibition held adjacent to my school, I endeavored to invite her to come with for the sake of my difficulty in finding paths. Although she regarded it as a tedious affair, she promised to me to come with me. Entering the art exhibition, Rebecca, was dazzled with those masterpieces displayed in the exhibition, then asked me a myriad of questions that I had never thought about. Driven by her curiosity, she began to study numerous and profound knowledge related to art. And since then, she really appreciate art from the bottom of her heart. This example illuminates that exposure to the subject enables us to step out of our comfort zone and avoid falling into stereotype.

Admittedly, explaining the utilization of the subject to students who are not interested in subjects may exert advantageous effects on them. Nevertheless, those students, lacking in internal regulation, are likely to end up giving up since every time they devote them into the subject, they are enslaved by the sense of frustration of mental exhaustion.

In a nutshell, from what has been mentioned above, the leading choices of engaging students’ interests in specific subjects are employing diversified pedagogical methods and exposing students to the subjects.