The best way to know a city you visit for the first time and only have a short time to stay.

1. historical sites

2. shop and markets

3. local restaurants & Cafe

Which place is the best to know a city when people visit for the first time with only having a short time time to stay? When it comes to this question of which place, answers differ from individual to individual. Some are adamant that historical sites give them sufficient life experience, others hold that shop and markets are vital places to understand the city, still others prefer to local restaurants and cafe. All statements are convincing and stand on points, yet my experience and real-life example lead me to conclude that historical sites is my primary decision to visit. More reasons and examples will be shed light on as follows.

To begin with, budget is my essential consideration, and historical sites can achieve this goal. Take me as an example, I am just a student, so spending money carefully is vital for me. Fortunately, tickets of most historical sites in Taiwan cost few moneys. Moreover, many temples in Taiwan do not need any tickets, and people can walk around to enjoy the solemn atmosphere. On the contrary, when we visit the local shop and markets, eating local foods easily costs us substantial money. Similarly, local restaurants and Café sale exquisite meals, which price is usually high. Therefore, attending historical sites is proper decision.

In addition, when travel to other cities, I prefer to comprehend local knowledge, and it can be got by visiting historical sites. For instance, it is common for historical sites to provide information of local history and traditional culture. Moreover, although we don’t realize local language, these historical sites often provide English information to let people from different parts of the world apprehend local cultural knowledge. By contrast, both markets and local restaurants can only satisfy our stomach, not getting any knowledge from them.

Last but not least, I focus on the quality of the trip, and visiting historical sites can have a high-quality trip. Take the historical site in Taipei as examples, the government offers many convenient transportations such as MRT or bus to pass by these historical places. Moreover, many free tourist trips to let visitors to learn more about the city. Besides, clean and enough restrooms, delicious snack bars and cool resting place cause all visitors have comfortable experience. In contrast, shop and markets sometimes hard to find the toilet, while some local restaurants and café is difficult to be found.