Children should spend most of the tie playing and studying, and they should not be required to do household chores, like cooking or cleaning.

Currently, with the development of pedagogical methods, there is an increasing number of parents attaching greater importance to the upbringing of their children. With regard to the problem that whether children are supposed to do household chores, some parents reckon that it is of crucial significance for children to nurture their awareness of independence, conversely, others suggest that since time is precious for children, they ought to be wholly engrossed in their study and play. Personally speaking, children ought to expend some time on doing household chores and there are a couple of reasons to account for my view.

To start with, doing household chores enables children to foster the consciousness of independence. Living in a society implemented the one-child policy, a bunch of children are growing in the circumstance of spoiling, therefore they are too over-protected to master some basic living skills, like how to wash clothes, how to prepare a meal instead of ordering the fast food. Hence, provided that parents require them to do household chores in the early stage, they are capable of nurturing the awareness of independence. In addition, they can also benefit from doing household chores, since all these skills are conducive for them to adapt to living alone after they graduate from school. The research conducted to evaluate fresh graduates aptitude to adapt to the society demonstrates that 28% graduates, who had learned to do household chores in their early age, think it does not take a long time for them to adapt to living without their parents’ help. Compared with them, the rest of testers suggest that it is extremely for them to live without parents’ help since they have no idea about how to do these household chores. This research illuminates that doing household chores exerts advantageous effects on children, especially after they initiate to live alone.

What’s more, doing household chores is also beneficial for both parents and children to reinforce their family bonds. Nowadays, leading a hectic life, some parents are occupied with their works during working hours. After they come back home, they are busy with doing household chores instead of communicating with their children, which makes children feel displeased. Hence, if children start to learn to do household chores, they can have a heated discussion with their parents, not only involves the techniques to clean the house, but also incorporates what they have encountered in their kindergartens and how is everything going in parents’ job, which apparently enhance their relationship by sharing the intriguing affairs emerge in their lives with each other. Apart from that, children’s involvement in household chores ensures that the burdens imposed on parents are diminished with their efforts, which not only eases parents but also affords children with a sense of accomplishment and stimulate them to continue to help their parents. Consequently, a virtuous circle ensuring harmonious relationships between family members is formed in lives.

Admittedly, spending more time on playing or studying also has its merits, for instance, children are able to grow without any concern about trivial affairs, nevertheless, trivial affairs eventually enter their worlds of lives, without the basic techniques, they cannot live a happy and satisfying life. Hence, the perks of focusing on playing or study are outshone by the advantages of doing household chores.

In a nutshell, it is widely acknowledged that children are supposed to expend some time on doing household chores due to its great benefits on honing skills conducive to adapt to live alone and reinforcing the family bonds.